Tags

5.5"X8.5" Post Card Template

Preservation by Rachael Wade

Book Description

Fear is sabotage’s sweetest weapon.

Kate has no time for meaningless romantic charades, and definitely no time for hot college professors who are full of themselves and smitten with her. Constantly battling eviction notices, tuition she can’t afford, and a sick, dependent mother, the last thing she needs is to be distracted with someone else’s complicated baggage.

When she stumbles into Ryan Campbell’s creative writing class, he is only “Mr. Campbell” to her, until Ryan finds himself captivated by her writing and she is forced to face their mutual attraction. His cocky know-it-all syndrome is enough to send her running in the other direction, and his posse of female admirers and playboy reputation are enough to squander any odds in her favor.

But underneath Ryan’s abrasive facade is something to behold, and she can’t stay away for long. Ryan and Kate must decide who they’re willing to become and fight against their former selves if they want to make things work. That’s if academia, vicious vixens, old skeletons, and their own mastery at self-destruction don’t pummel their efforts first.
goodreads_icon_50x50-button

Amazon| B&N

Reviews

Kara’s take…

Kate and Ryan’s encounters left an impression on my emotions throughout this read. I was up, down, swooning, and gaafawing! The riskiness of their relationship intrigued me and I felt I was keeping something from Kate just as much as Ryan was, which left me feeling torn. Ryan’s protectiveness fits exactly how I picture him. But the question that can be asked of both Kate and Ryan is: what exactly are you protecting? Yourself, your heart? Those things that others may term as “less important” caught my attention and became a focus to me of how they’d come into play: atlas & tattoos to name a few. Kate is friends with Dean and Carter, whom couldn’t be more supportive and loving for her psyche. They know when to push, proceed with caution, and when to turn a tougher moment into one of laughter. I read this book a year ago and failed to leave a review, so I’m refreshing my Ryan and Kate journey and catching pieces I didn’t make connections with the first time through. Definitely a series you can come back to over and over. Give this a try and develop your crush!! Rating: 4 stars

Karen’s take…

I enjoyed Preservation but it was missing that “something” that would have made it a better book for me. Essentially the main factor missing was character and relationship development. I didn’t get why they loved each other or what the attraction was. Why was Kate the one? Then, towards the end of the book the storyline seemed to veer off into a direction that didn’t fit for me or just felt out of place. The writing was good but I just didn’t get a connection with these characters that would have immersed me into the story. I’m interested in where author Rachael Wade will take us Ryan and Kate’s story, so I will read Reservation and hoping will glean a stronger feeling towards these characters. Give this a try and see what you think. 3.5 Stars

Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter