Tags

wish i may

Wish I May (New Hope #2)by Lexi Ryan

Book Description

I grew up wishing on stars. My father taught me to believe…in destiny, in magic, in happily ever after. Dreams were my scripture and the starry night sky was my temple. Then Mom stopped believing, left him, and took us with her. At the age of sixteen, I cashed in my dreams to pay the rent, pawned my destiny to keep my sisters together. Now, seven years later, I’m returning home, grieving the death of my mother, and settling my sisters back into the life Mom threw away. I never intended to stay. I don’t want to deal with my father, who is so invested in the spiritual world he forgets the physical. I don’t want to face William Bailey, whose eyes remind me of the girl I was, the things I’ve done, and the future I lost. This would all be easier if Will hated me. As it is, I have to hold my secrets close so they won’t hurt him more than they’ve already hurt me. But he wants to be in my life. He wants what I can’t bring myself to confess I sold. He wants me. I find myself looking to my stars again…wondering if I dare one more wish.
goodreads_icon_50x50-button

Amazon| B&N

two hearts divider

Review

This novel takes place seven years after the end of Stolen Wishes.  Needless to say, Cally and Will are different people now as they’ve both been through some difficult times and for one of them they were not given a choice in many of the matters at hand as this person felt trapped, forced.  Cally returns to New Hope and she’s rougher, stronger in terms of who she is yet still weak when it comes to her feelings for Will.  Cally still holds strong to wanting to be nothing like her mother, to the point she tries to prove herself to others through her legit massage therapy practice.  She’s the level head for her sisters and tries to show right by them.  Cally and Will learn things about one another and forgiveness is crucial within their current relationship.  Will wants Cally to be his, and he’s not afraid to go caveman for her.  Cally’s torn and has to figure out what will make her happy and fulfill her wishes, of she still has them.  Will & Cally’s journey has pain, twists and turns, drama, manipulation, fear, anger, and sorrow to plow through to their “end”.  Lexi’s words made it possible for me to experience these emotions with them.  We see the whole gang from Unbreak Me and get caught up with Maggie & Asher.  Lexi touches on deep, hard to discuss issues in a tasteful yet honest manner in her books I’ve read thus far and this takes talent.  I’m connected to this group and can’t wait to dive into the spin-off series, Here and Now, starting with Lost in Me.  Give this a try and get crushed! Rating: 4 stars

Connect with Lexi Ryan: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter