Tags

Make it a Double by Sawyer Bennett
Sensual couple

Book Description

Brody Markham has endured a nightmare, spending the last five years in prison and losing everything that was dear to him. Now he’s back home, trying to survive in a world he doesn’t recognize anymore. While his family and friends desperately try to reach through to him, he shelters himself further and further away from their love.

Alyssa Myers has worked her entire life to distance herself from the luxurious and privileged lifestyle in which she was raised. Running her non-profit agency, The Haven, she is content to spend her days helping abused animals find sanctuary, which fulfills her in a way that money just can’t buy.

Maybe it’s that she recognizes in Brody some of the same characteristics she sees in her homeless wards, but Alyssa is powerless to stop her personal quest to make Brody whole again.

While Brody struggles to surface from the darkness, Alyssa tries to protect her heart in case he’s not willing to accept the light that she offers him.
goodreads_icon_50x50-button

Amazon| B&N

Review

This is the second novel in the Last Call series with Brody and Alyssa’s story. Brody has recently been released from prison and is transitioning into the everyday life of freedom. BUT he has a secret on his shoulders that wears him down and he starts secluding himself. Brody pushing back made me anxious because I was fearful he was going to explode if someone said or did something not to his liking. Alyssa is a little hellcat and I think her and Brody are a perfect match! Alyssa can rile him up and keep him on his toes but more importantly with The Haven this becomes another safe place for him and soothes him with his love for animals. Brody and Alyssa both have exes that re-enter the picture and their motives left my skin crawling. Brody’s words were direct and emotionally powerful at the same time. I enjoyed his story more so than his twin, Hunter’s because I felt more emotionally invested in Brody’s story. And with this being the second novel, we had the added bonus of already knowing some of his backstory.
“I started changing because just having one person who knew the truth… one person that wouldn’t label me a monster… it made a difference in my world. I felt lighter, freer… and I found that I wanted to have a life again.” See…Feel how powerful this is!! My rating is because I wanted more at the end. It sped up rapidly after a gi-huge-ic event occurring, some deep seeded emotions and feelings were shared, and then the novel wrapped up. I was just left wanting more. I can’t wait for Casey’s story (Brody & Hunter’s sister) and I loved seeing more of Gabby, Hunter, Wyatt, & Savannah. We also meet Jimbo (Brody’s probation officer). It makes me curious to see how others will match up in future installments. Give this a try and find your next crush! Rating: 4 stars

MIADTeaser-4

About the Author

USA Today Best-Selling author, Sawyer Bennett, is a snarky southern woman and reformed trial lawyer who decided to finally start putting on paper all of the stories that were floating in her head. She is married to a mobster (well, a market researcher) and they have two big, furry dogs who hog the bed. Sawyer would like to report she doesn’t have many weaknesses but can be bribed with a nominal amount of milk chocolate.

Connect with Sawyer Bennett: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter

AToMR logo