Tags

Lock&Key

Lock & Key by Cat Porter

Book Description

Love not only stings when you lose it, when it’s ripped away, but when it first sinks its teeth into you, it can cut just as raw and sting just as deep.
Unfortunately, I had forgotten that.

I was allegedly South Dakota’s most famous Old Lady.
Fifteen years ago I had survived my Old Man’s murder
and swore to myself never again.
Never again surrender my heart.
Never again sacrifice to the Club.
But that all changed in one night.

I came home and crashed into him,
and my past and present blew up in my face.
Both of us lonely, running on empty, and unwilling to admit it.
Until now.
I feel things I’d forgotten about, want things I had cut out of my insides.

Who holds the keys to betrayal? To suspicion? To trust?
To brotherhood? To family?
To a bleeding heart?
Right now, I just might.
I suppose some of us have to get really dirty before we can become truly clean.
goodreads_icon_50x50-button

Kobo| B&N| Amazon| AmazonCA| AmazonUK| AmazonAU| iTunes

Review

Caryn’s Review…

This was my first MC read. I had no idea what I was missing! Lock & Key was fast paced, intriguing, a little suspense, steamy sex, and hot bikers. What more could you ask for in a book?? Lock & Key pulled me into another world, another family, and damn if I didn’t fall in love with Lock. Lock & Key had my emotions running the gamut…I’ll say that. I found myself (saying out loud no less)…”you want her to do what???!!!” and “are you seriously asking him to do that??!!” and “REALLY??!!” Damn, it was fantastic!!
The prologue says it all……”Once upon a time I lost everything. Then I ran away. But I returned because I had to. Truth is a painful sword. It cuts deep and stings, but the pain evaporates, the blood dries, and in the place of such savagery is a gleaming absolution and an absolute purity. It’s blinding. It hurts. And it is utterly beautiful. You can’t escape it. Truth demanded a leap, I took it. This is a story of my love for two men at two different moments of truth in my life. One man is gone forever; the other is very much alive. Love not only stings when you lose it, when it’s ripped away from you, but when it first bites, it can sting just as deeply. This is also a story about the love between my sister and me, and our redemption through two families – one bound by blood, the other by brotherhood – that tore us apart yet bound us together forever.” Now…..if that doesn’t grab you and make you want to keep turning the pages…I don’t know what will. So fantastic!!
Meet Grace ~ she is fierce, loyal, and so strong. I love her.
The bond between Grace and her sister Ruby…..”love you no matter what, so just suck it up.” is unbreakable, unconditional, and the sacrifices made…………….moved me in a way I don’t really have the words for. A sisterly bond/relationship that was frustrating as much as it was heartwarming.
Meet Dig ~ “Get gone, want you…safe. Get gone. Now sweetheart” I have to leave it at that, but I promise you, you will love Dig for all that he is (sigh)
Meet Lock ~ “Everything unlocks with you Grace. Anything good suddenly fits. You’re my key. I found you and I’m not letting you go. Not ever. I’ve waited too long for you.” “My beautiful Grace. My Sister. My lost girl. My determined survivor. My vivid bright in all my cloudy grey.” I’m not going to lie, Lock is going to make you angry, and do some stupid things, but you’re also going to fall in love with him….prepare yourself.
Disclaimer: Tear jerking moments are ahead, intertwined with a beautiful love story.  ~ 4.5 ~ Locked ~ Stars

Kara’s Review

Cat swept me away to an MC world that I didn’t want to leave with L&K. There are twists and turns, property being claimed, revenge seeking antics, secrets and dirt, and sorrow and healing. Grace is a powerhouse in this MC club that she returns to after 15 years. Cat takes us back to Grace’s past and this connected me with her Old Man as well as allowed me to understand the current emotions she experiences as the past is replaying in her present interactions. The family aspect in this novel is always present even when Grave feels lonely. The draw Grave experiences with Miller and how they meet had my heart racing. I was pulling for them and detested the time between their chemistry-filled encounters, where others filled their sheets. The description Cat gives when Grace holds onto Miller on his bike had me panting. Their eye contact and wordless communication done across the room from one another had me white-knuckling my kindle. It was tension and angst perfection. Lock is the best road name for Miller as he definitely keeps his emotions and true thoughts in lockdown. The deal Grace had made shocked me, yet made sense that she did that for her, her family, and the club. When Grace opens her heart again it’s nothing but beauty that springs out that was trapped inside. She finds her inner peace and I hope to see this continue in future installments. Cat took me on a helluva ride that I didn’t want to get off of. Give this a try and find your next crush!! Rating: 4.5 stars

Connect with Cat Porter: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter