Tags

lovers secret

The Lover’s Secret by JC Reed

Book Summary

When a sexy encounter comes like a dream and leaves like a nightmare…

Brooke Stewart thinks she’s finally safe. After witnessing the crime of a killer, she can move on from her past. But after one night at the Trio Hotel and meeting the sexy stranger with the green eyes that can steal one’s soul, her life is changed forever. Passions run deep. The game is supposed to be for one night with no strings attached.

What she doesn’t know is that the sexy stranger has an agenda of his own. Brooke Stewart has something he desperately wants, something he can’t admit to the woman he tries to get to surrender. A secret so deep it would upend her life if she found out too soon. He’s almost reached his goal, and then she gets a letter she was not meant to read. Suddenly, secrets get a completely new meaning.

Is the past really ever the past?
goodreads_icon_50x50-button

Amazon | B&N | AmazonUK| iTunes

blogtour

Review

I couldn’t wait to read this start to a new series where we get more of Jett and Brooke. But holy shit does Jett piss me off in this novel. This reaction is powerful to the point that I feel like Brooke: raging, feeling empty, wanting to run yet get answers. Ahhh I’m just so frustrated with all the questions I want answered, which to me is a very positive reaction to a book because I love when authors keep me guessing! This novel is shorter so that’s where I feel the strength is lacking. The peak angst came at the end for me, so to see “the end” I felt let down. Although the sequel, “The Lover’s Game” does release in a few days so this is a major plus! Jett is still a mystery with his secrets which keeps me on my toes. Brooke and her mind-reeling questions fuels my anxiety about what’s going on, what’s going to happen and her doubts are real. Her past makes her trust carefully with not wanting to out all of her eggs in one basket, yet wanting proof of the safety of that one basket at the same time. Case in point, I don’t know that I’ll ever get enough of Jett and Brooke so although this was a shorter read that left me with many unanswered questions…I will keep coming back for more!! Give this a try and find your next book crush!! Rating: 4 stars

JC Reed: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter