Tags

Echoes of Scotland Street (On Dublin Street #5) by Samantha Young

echoes

Book Description

Shannon MacLeod has always gone for the wrong type of man. After she drifted from one toxic relationship to the next, her last boyfriend gave her a wakeup call in the worst possible way. With her world shattered, she’s sworn off men—especially those of the bad-boy variety.

Cole Walker is exactly the sort that Shannon wants to avoid—gorgeous, tattooed, charming, and cocky. But his rough exterior hides a good man who’s ready to find “the one.” He’s determined to pull Shannon from her self-imposed solitude and win her heart.

As Shannon opens up in the face of Cole’s steady devotion, the passion between them ignites to blazing levels. But when Shannon’s past comes back to haunt her, her fears may destroy the trust Cole has built between them—and tear them apart for good…
goodreads_icon_50x50-button

Amazon | B&N | iTunes

Kara’s Review

From reading the On Dublin Street series, I was anxiously waiting to hear how Cole turned into a man. He’s always been mature for his age in his choices and words, but his value on family and being protective of those that are protective of him stole the show for me and solidified my love for his personality. We get Shannon’s POV in this novel as we know from previous installments Cole’s backstory. Shannon’s struggle with learning to trust comes from deceit and loss in her past with relationships with dating and how her family treats her. The On Dublin Street tribe provides us with the meaning of family. Family is not limited by blood, it’s boundaries include those you trust, can rely on, who are protective and supportive of you no matter what joy or shit flies you way. I get this weird grin on my face when I take in the interactions between this clan at Elodie and Clark’s house on Sunday’s and for all of their family celebrations. It’s a grin affected by their absolute joy and giddiness just being in the presence of one another. The magnitude of their love for one another climbs through the pages into your heart. I don’t know if I’ll ever get enough of this clan, as they’ve seeped in and planted themselves deep. Samantha provided me with a connection to Cole from previous installments and she won me over with Shannon, that link from the past, her strawberry curls, her spunk and fight for finding happiness. I agree with Shannon’s comment that she speaks things aloud to process things and this hurt occurring so close to the end of the novel was frustrating, but Shannon made it worth the journey. Give this a try and find your next book crush!! Rating: 4 stars

Caryn’s Review

Loved this book! I’ve got to be honest though….first of all, my heart lies with Braden but have no fear, Cole is a close second behind. Second…there were so many times that I wanted to jump into this story and punch that “wee fairy with her magical hair” right in the throat! I mean…come on…how much closer to perfect could Cole be? Was the “wee fairy” not taught about assumptions?? She can assume all she wants….but she knows…….
~ Shannon ~ “But I was hyperaware of Cole. He was just that guy – he exuded charisma. There was this aura about him and I imagined I was not alone in being drawn in by it. I did my best to fight it though…..”
The chemistry between Cole and Shannon is off the charts undeniable, yet this crazy “wee Fairy” fights it and I get it…..the girl has trust issues and understandably so, but if I’m being honest…..drove me crazy throughout the entire story. Crazy in a fantastic way no less, to the point I would yell out loud….”give in already! Stop fighting! What in the hell are you waiting for??” And then you have Cole, who, in a word is… EVERYTHING….everything you want in a man.
~ Cole ~ “There is nothing casual about how I feel about you. There hasn’t been since the day…..I get you don’t trust me and I get why, but I want you to give me the chance to change that. I think there’s something here that’s worth all the effort.” “That’s why you have to know that I won’t ever hurt you like that. Ever. You have to believe that.” How do you not melt?? It’s impossible not to! I fell in love with this boy from the first page and I will read Echoes of Scotland Street again and again, simply to fall in love with Cole one more time.
~ 4.5 ~ Please believe that ~ Stars

Karen’s Review

The On Dublin Street clan is back and they do not disappoint! Author Samantha Young brings us yet another man who will steal your heart and have you falling in love over and over again! Echoes of Scotland Street is Cole and Shannon’s story but we get glimpses of other characters as they are woven into ‘Echoes’.
The thing that I loved most about this book was the acceptance of strangers and the family that is built out of love and not from blood. The strong ties these characters have demonstrates that family can be more about those who you find in your life and not the one you’re born into.
Shannon has deep trust issues. She doesn’t trust herself and even more she doesn’t trust “bad boys”. So much so, that her lack of trust has caused her to be close-minded and a little judgmental which is completely at odds with her true “wee fairy” heart and spunk! Although I understood her reluctance to Cole because of her trust issues and insecurities, it was a bit annoying when everyone could see that he was more than meets the eye.
Overall ‘Echoes’ will have you smiling and laughing with the group along with the warm fuzzy feeling you’ll get in your heart. Give ‘Echoes’ a try and find your next book crush in Cole!! 4.0 Stars

Connect with Samantha Young: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter