Tags

living with regret

Living With Regret by Lisa DeJong

Book Details

I had my whole life mapped out. Perfect guy. Perfect friends. Everything was exactly the way I wanted it.

That was until that night–the one I can’t remember. It’s all my fault, and now the memories are all I have left of him. Of us.

My guilt drowns me until Sam Shea steps back into my life and helps me to the surface. He slowly opens my heart and crawls deep inside before I even realize what’s happening. I know I don’t deserve him.

While I’m trying to get used to my new life, pieces of that night slowly start to come back to me. Lies and secrets shatter everything I thought I knew.

Maybe I’m not the only one living with regret.
goodreads_icon_50x50-button

Amazon | B&N

Review

Rachel feels cheated from the left she thought she was to lead with Cory. She wakes up and can’t remember nearly 24hours of her life. What’s most disturbing is events, places, and particular words spoken trigger memories but there remains missing pieces. How Rachel finds peace and solace from her overwhelming thoughts in her and Sam’s field sounds purely serene. Rachel feels alone, no not just alone, she’s lonely. She experiences unimaginable emotional pain and then feels lonely from her own parents, family and friends she thought would be there to support and comfort her. I hurt for Rachel and I don’t think she’d enjoy hearing that because through this novel we experience her growth and overcome extreme struggles and pain. Sam has been a constant in Rachel’s life: a dependable anchor that gives his strength and trust while also sharing his own hurt and pain. I connected most with Rachel and Sam when they were in their field. Lisa made the field their ‘safe haven’, where they could be their true selves with one another. Clarity came through in those fields from natures pure beauty and innocence, letting Rachel and Sam’s walls fall. Rachel’s grief and pain held her back for some time (which is realistic), but I wanted more from after her growth of this experience and her moving forward. We caught some glimpses, but I’m greedy and was hoping for more. Lisa’s way with words yanks at my heartstrings and gets my tear ducts rolling. Lisa’s work tells a story but with a deeper meaning that burrows deep and leaves an imprint. I found myself breathless (yes, sometimes from the sobbing) by the characters, the emotions, and even the serenity of the environment. Give this a try and find your next book crush!! Rating: 4 stars

Connect with Lisa De Jong: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter