Tags

Bittersweet by Sunday James
bittersweet

Book Details

Sparks fly between a sexy stranger and a small-town waitress in this steamy new contemporary romance…

When new teen TV series ‘Bittersweet’ begins shooting in Dogwood, Virginia, the small town is abuzz with excitement. But local waitress Cathy Johnson has too much on her plate to waste time being star-struck. To Cathy, “bittersweet” is just the word that sums up her love-life after her high school romance ended in disaster. Since then she’s hardly had time to brush her hair, let alone think about relationships. Certainly not the kind being played out in front of the cameras by impossibly beautiful actors posing as teenagers…

But all that changes when tall, dark, blue-eyed stranger Greg Moran arrives in Dogwood along with the ‘Bittersweet’ cast and crew. Cathy and the devastatingly sexy New Yorker have instant chemistry. But Greg blows hot (STEAMING hot) and cold with her romantically, leaving Cathy’s head in a spin. She has a feeling he’s keeping something from her… If Cathy is willing to drop her emotional walls, why is Greg still so intense and mysterious? What is it in his past – or present – that means he’s keeping Cathy at arm’s length? How badly has his heart really been broken before?

Cathy and Greg are magnetically drawn to one another, but they’ll have to fight to keep their relationship from turning sour. Will they make it? If it’s hard to let go of the past, falling in love can be BITTERSWEET…
goodreads_icon_50x50-button

Amazon

Reviews

From the first page of this novel, I was able to picture myself hovering over the scenes watching it play out live with Cathy as my narrator. Cathy is from a small town and works at her family restaurant owned by her father. Cathy’s mother ran away from their family when Cathy was younger, resulting in trust issues for her. A soon-to-be TV show comes to town to film and this is where we meet Greg. Greg gets mysterious phone calls, deflects attention from himself, and puts up a wall making others not broach personal topics with Greg. Things heat up quickly between Cathy and Greg, and this novel is the first part of their journey. I was frustrated at times that the characters’ wants were predictable and that the push and pull dragged on as it did. It was spiced up in the beginning of the novel and this spice dulled for me in the middle, where I like things to get more tense or make me think more as I continue reading. The predictability took away from this angst and excitement for me. The characters stayed true to their personalities and I respect Sunday’s ability in pulling me in from the first page of her novel. Cathy and Greg’s story will continue, with the second novel “Lovestruck” as Bittersweet ended with a mild cliffhanger. Give this a try and find your next book crush! Rating: 3 stars ~Kara

Bittersweet is the debut by author Sunday James was a little bittersweet to me. The story was sweet, the plot was sure to provide a bit of angst and I love stories of the secret star and regular girl. The bitter was the mild tension and character development.
Cathy and Greg’s story is mild to medium heat from the beginning but felt like it fizzled out by the middle of the book. This is normally where I would expect the angst and drama to become more heightened, and intensify, but I felt like it was unnatural or perhaps obligatory. Too many roadblocks got in the way which didn’t feel authentic. The storyline was fairly predictable so it lost some of the impact I felt at the beginning. Unfortunately, I didn’t connect with the characters with any depth. I didn’t get the feeling of investment in their story that I would have liked. Although I did feel like I could visualize the story as it played out on the pages.
Sunday James’ writing was good. I found Bittersweet to be a good New Adult novel. But I felt, for me, the characters didn’t jump off the pages or have any of that extra something special that hooks me in and captivates me. I am interested to see how the story develops and hope to see the sparks fan into some flames.
Give this a try and find out if it’s your next book crush. 3.0 – 3.5 stars ~Karen

Connect with Sunday James: Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter