Tags

Marrow by Tarryn Fisher

Marrow

Book Details

In the Bone there is a house.

In the house there is a girl.

In the girl there is a darkness.

Margo is not like other girls. She lives in a derelict neighborhood called the Bone, in a cursed house, with her cursed mother, who hasn’t spoken to her in over two years. She lives her days feeling invisible. It’s not until she develops a friendship with her wheelchair-bound neighbor, Judah Grant, that things begin to change. When a neighborhood girl, seven-year-old Neveah Anthony, goes missing, Judah sets out to help Margo uncover what happened to her.

What Margo finds changes her, and with a new perspective on life, she’s determined to find evil and punish it–targeting rapists and child molesters, one by one.

But hunting evil is dangerous, and Margo risks losing everything, including her own soul.
kindlenookibooksgoodreads_icon_50x50-button

Review

If you get anything out of this review, I hope you read it twice, share it (if you’d like) and if you read any of the below sentences more than once, please follow the steps at the bottom of this review. I will begin with asking if you have read any of Tarryn’s novels yet? If not, here’s what you need to know: Tarryn’s writing is in a field, no-scratch that…a universe of its own. But let me clarify…her writing is not an “it”, it’s her being, her soul, just HER! Tarryn is the most thorough author I’ve had the pleasure of reading. The detail she places into every sentence down to punctuation sends vibrations and the feels through my bones. Then she goes and makes me think and question not only the thoughts I’ve formed but also her words. And then I think and question some more and then I reflect before I find myself thinking and questioning again. Crazy, right? NO….passionate! So then I turn to my fellow PLNs and they get it, they know exactly what I’m feeling. And Tarryn, she’s watching, always, and she’s laughing (I can hear her) because she loves seeing how we crave her words and her mind that remind us why we love to read and why we read to love. Tarryn’s novels will school you that novels can have their own spin of an HEA that’s not all rainbows and unicorns and shit! Because life is real and she brings that to life. Bottom line…Tarryn has shown us how to love and grow from our flaws. Tarryn is our Marrow. She is in our bones and we will Never, NEVER release her!

So here’s my definition of the PLNs…Tarryn’s army. The 5 roles of a Passionate Little Nutcase is to: 1) go mad crazy over Our Queen’s releases. 2) Appreciate that Tarryn only releases one novel a year because she puts her everything into it. Everything. (Not to discredit those who release more than one book a year). 3) To dissect every word, statement and thought put to paper in her artistry (because you never know when something ties to one of her previous works or what the hidden meaning of something may be). 4) To join TF’s discussion groups to address #3. And they’re more support groups because we’re all going mad in there. And it’s a supportive, actual place with comforting hugs and shit (sometimes). 5) To spread her love and kindness to others. That being said #1…I have to do #3 in my head (before writing my review) because I’m crazy and talk to myself and other people’s thoughts will taint my own thoughts. If I don’t process in my own mind first, I forget my own beliefs and renditions of what’s real/not real because I think someone else’s crazy thought makes more sense than my own even crazier thought. That being said #2… Marrow/Margo/Tarryn brings to life the reality of what we all think, feel and want to do in reality. Which is bring justice for the children who the adults in their lives ruin for them. That’s all I’m saying about Marrow…because I’m not giving shit away…that’s not my style.

If you’re new to this nuthouse…here’s my advice: 1) start with Tarryn’s Love Me With Lies series (The Opportunist, Dirty Red, and Theif) as this series will introduce you to Tarryn’s mindset and writing. 2) Read Mud Vein and 3) Read Marrow. In between each of these steps join the respective discussion groups…trust me, you’ll need them. And Tarryn also co-authored Never, Never with Colleen Hoover which is another amazing book you’ll need to add to the above steps. Give this a try, you’ll find yourself craving more TF!! Rating: 5 “Baby…I’m crazy” stars

Author Info : Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter