Tags

New Release

Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Maybe In Another Life

Book Details

From the acclaimed author of Forever, Interrupted and After I Do comes a breathtaking new novel about a young woman whose fate hinges on the choice she makes after bumping into an old flame; in alternating chapters, we see two possible scenarios unfold—with stunningly different results.

At the age of twenty-nine, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with her life. She has lived in six different cities and held countless meaningless jobs since graduating college. On the heels of leaving yet another city, Hannah moves back to her hometown of Los Angeles and takes up residence in her best friend Gabby’s guestroom. Shortly after getting back to town, Hannah goes out to a bar one night with Gabby and meets up with her high school boyfriend, Ethan.

Just after midnight, Gabby asks Hannah if she’s ready to go. A moment later, Ethan offers to give her a ride later if she wants to stay. Hannah hesitates. What happens if she leaves with Gabby? What happens if she leaves with Ethan?

In concurrent storylines, Hannah lives out the effects of each decision. Quickly, these parallel universes develop into radically different stories with large-scale consequences for Hannah, as well as the people around her. As the two alternate realities run their course, Maybe in Another Life raises questions about fate and true love: Is anything meant to be? How much in our life is determined by chance? And perhaps, most compellingly: Is there such a thing as a soul mate?

Hannah believes there is. And, in both worlds, she believes she’s found him.
kindlenookibooks
goodreads_icon_50x50-button

Reviews

Kara’s Review…

I thought aloud with close friends of mine an idea I thought I made up in my head several years ago. Come to realize it’s a thing. This idea of a parallel universe or the multiverse theory. My thought was that with every decision we made the opposite of our choice is playing out somewhere else. Then to read and experience from the genius words and mind of Taylor, told through the eyes of Hannah and a choice she made on a night out with friends was an experience I didn’t know I’d ever have the chance at being fulfilled. I got the feels repeatedly throughout this novel. I wept, laughed, longed, hurt, and accepted. Hannah experienced different paths because of different choices. Yet those individuals meant to be in her life, they crossed paths or maintained a relationship, no matter which decision she made. To see her realizations meet at a particular point in the novel showed me the acceptance she welcomed into her life, although they may come at various points. We’re led where we’re supposed to be. We meet and keep those in our life that are supposed to be part of who we are. Shit may happen to us, but we learn to make of these situations what we want. If we ‘want’ differently then we need to take action and use it as a motivator, instead of sitting around waiting for what we want to come to us. I loved the idea of this novel (it tells me I’m not crazy for having this exact thought myself) and I am thankful for how beautifully and fluidly Taylor shared Hannah’s experiences, her decisions, and her realizations. ‘Maybe in Another Life’ our decisions are different, but our beliefs and who we are remain the same. You’ll be OK. And OK is good. And never pass up a cinnamon roll. Rating: 5 stars

Caryn’s Review…

This was my first read from Taylor Jenkins Reid and definitely not my last. How have I not read her before?? (Palms forehead)
What a refreshing change and unique writing style. A writing style with a flawless flow that will captivate you from the first page. I was instantly intrigued and immediately hooked.
Maybe In Another Life delivers all the emotion…love, laughter, tears, joy, sorrow, and so much more. Simply stated… a story that makes you feel.
Follow Hannah on not just one, but two incredible journeys and find yourself with a new Book Crush…maybe two.
I could go on and on gushing and raving about this book…but I won’t. I will simply say this…reading Maybe In Another Life is an absolute must! ~ 5 ~ And my heart breaks for every version of me that didn’t end up with you ~ Stars

Karen’s Review…

Maybe In Another Life takes us on Hannah Martin’s journey of two parallel lives playing out concurrently based on a decision made at a moment. This pivotal moment allows us to experience how Hannah’s life is affected by that brief moment and seemingly inconsequential decision.
This book felt like such a real life experience that was an event to live through more than just a fictional story to read. The concurrent storyline had me worried that I would just be reading a repetitive telling of the same story with minor changes. The drastically different outcomes in this story, where in the end it seemed everything turned out as it was meant to be, were moving and provocative.
This story was refreshing, thought-provoking, unique and addictive. There is a line in the blurb that absolutely twists my heart and left me breathless.
Is there such a thing as a soul mate?
Hannah believes there is. And, in both worlds, she believes she’s found him.
This possibility and how this unfolds is just fantastic. The writing is effortless. If you want a story that is unlike any other and will make you feel every page, then Maybe In Another Life is a MUST read! 5.0 Everything as it is meant to be! Stars
“…there may be universes out there where I made different choices that led me somewhere else, led me to someone else.” “And my heart breaks for every version of me that didn’t end up with you.”

Taylor

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Taylor Jenkins Reid is an author and essayist from Acton, Massachusetts. She is the author of Forever, Interrupted and After I Do. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Alex, and her dog, Rabbit.

Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter